Shuba’s Weblog

Journeys of the soul…

Blueberry muffins..

on September 20, 2007

So I decided last nite that it was time for the muffins of the week to be made-the blueberry anti-oxidant filled ones :). Abhi had oatmeal yesterday and the look on his face pretty much proclaimed the need for it ;).

Immediatly I reached my favorite baking book-‘how to be a domestic goddess’ by Nigella Lawson. The fact that I love a book with that title, I know, is bringing you giggles! ;). But NIgella’s writing is so cool and so beginner-friendly, its been a major factor in my baking adventures. And she has delectable pictures, which in my mind is a major factor in whether I’m going to try the recipe!

Not to mention my dear friend Heidi who first introduced me to baking. The first time she came over-she saw my measuring cup-which was this small plastic cup we use for measuring rice. I did not even know you have measuring cups and spoons here!! That was about 1.5-2 years ago, and I have come a long way since then. Even she is impressed :). I now have a stocked pantry with all my ingredients, and I always have frozen blueberries, so they are the easiest to make.

So, last nite, I measured out the ingredients very responsibly, going by Nigella’s tip, so that all I had to do this morning was to melt butter, beat it with the egg and buttermilk and add to the dry ingredients (adding b’s at the end) and put it in the oven. I even made it healthy by replacing half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour. Except that I overslept! So Abhi did have oatmeal this morning. But after he left, I mixed it up, and 20 minutes later they are ready :). Now I get to sample the muffins first! Don’t they look yummy! I told you I was on my way to being a domestic goddess :).

ps: Okay, so I took pictures of the muffins to post-I hope to get to uploading it sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

