Shuba’s Weblog

Journeys of the soul…

Impermanence

on September 20, 2007

When I was at the mindfulness retreat, one of the guided meditations the sister led us in, was impermanence. It was beautiful and I remember how peaceful and grateful for life it made me feel. I had written it in my diary immediately and this morning I led myself through it in meditation (modifying it somewhat as my meditation went along). It went like this:

breathing in, I’m aware of my eyes

breathing out, I’m aware that my eyes are impermanent.

breathing in, I’m aware of my heart,

breathing out, I realize my heart is impermanent

breathing in, I’m aware of my lungs,

breathing out, I’m aware that my lungs are impermanent

breathing in, i’m aware of my kidneys

breathing out, I’m aware that my kidneys are impermanent

breathing in, I’m aware of my mind,

breathing out, I realize that my mind is impermanent

breathing in, I’m aware of my whole body,

breathing out, I’m aware that my body is impermanent

breathing in, I’m aware of the world

breathing out, I’m aware that the world is impermanent

breathing in, I’m mindful

breathing out, I feel the joy of mindfulness.

When we realize how impermanent everything is, its amazing how much gratitude and appreciation one feels for the present moment. As I felt my heart, I felt how it was beating. How would it feel when it stopped beating, which it would one day. How lucky that it is beating right now! How much the lungs work to channel the air through our body. How one day it will no longer do so. So, we can appreciate having a healthy pair of lungs right now! Even the pain in our body-that too is impermanent. and it will change someday into something else. Our thoughts and feelings, too are impermanent. We feel so consumed by them when we feel them, think them. yet they are but fleeting. So, in fact, thoughts let us find the doorway to impermanence. so does pain and joy. They let us wake up, be completely alive, knowing that they are with us in the present moment, and they will be gone at another moment.

At the end of the meditation, I felt lucky to be alive. To have this present moment, to be able to enjoy it fully, knowing it will never come back. but there will be others, like it.and I can enjoy every one of those as well.

As Thay (Thich Nhat Hanh) says, ‘breathe, you are alive!’

I send you peace on your day!

Leave a Reply

