Shuba’s Weblog

Journeys of the soul…

Seven Months Old…

on April 11, 2011

Anjali turned seven months old today. It feels like yesterday when she was born, and I held her in my arms for the very first time. It was like magic. I still feel like that when she dozes off in my arms at the end of the day. So precious, and so beautiful.

This morning when I woke up, I was irritated and resentful, because I had a cold and Anjali had a cold and our routines were upset. And instead of working, I would be home taking care of her. My mind said, ‘I hope to God this is the last cold of the season!’. I was tired at having to deal with sicknesses yet again. and the worry and anxiety it often brings along, for me.

And somehow during the course of the day, that resentment turned into gratitude. Having the chance to witness Anjali, see her endless curiosity (inspite of a cold!) and her playfulness cheered me. She grabbed at my pen when I was writing. She spent 20 minutes playing with the yellow food packet of pureed apple and banana she had just finished up, studiously studying the writing on it. At the car appointment, while waiting, she watched each person passing her by, as if they were her long lost friend. She smiled at the Doctor as if he was her best friend, and at the Nurse like she was throwing a party. She patiently hung out next to me as I did yoga. She lasted till shivasana, and then she was done! 🙂 Sure she fussed, and her nose ran like a fountain. But she was also happy.

So instead of being at work, I was home! what a blessing! Sometimes, changes are blessings in disguise. We resent them, we resist them. and finally when we relax into them, they turn out okay :).

May we find our ways to peace, whatever effort that takes…
with Love,
Shuba.

2 responses to “Seven Months Old…

  1. Suman says:

    Happy Seventh month B’day to little Anjali. Mine turned six months a week back. Every word that you have mentioned in this post resonates with me. It sure is a joy to see them group – from being so vulnerable to being so interactive and more. They sure do teach a lot of life lessons.

    Have I ever told you how much I love your blog. It gives such a feel good factor. I have recommended your blog to a couple of like minded folks that I know would enjoy your writings.

    • Shuba says:

      Thank you Suman. Much appreciated, and the feeling is mutual. I very much enjoy reading your blog, the gratitude and appreciation for every day moments that flows through. We are kindred spirits meeting in the blog world. 🙂

      warmly,
      Shuba

Leave a Reply

