Shuba’s Weblog

Journeys of the soul…

Beginnings…

on September 8, 2011

Life is amazing. We hit the wall and think we can’t make it through. And then we take tiny steps gingerly. and suddenly we are flying!!

It has been an incredible year starting with Anjali’s birth on September 11th, 2010. The journey was probably in motion already, but that was the turning point. I look back and see a woman who so wanted to embrace her inner most desires but was afraid to. And now Thanks to Anjali and her amazing superman Dad, my husband Abhi, I’m finding the courage to leave my job as Professor at Dartmouth.

Last month was a month of introspection – of taking the time to be with uncertainty, self-doubt and fear of letting go. Of playing this incessant dance of confusion and clarity. Just like after incessant rain, things clear up in a marvelous way, somehow miraculously, things started coming together.

I found a position at the local community college to teach Math one evening a week. It doesn’t pay much but is just the kind of thing I want to do – put my skills to some practical use in the community. I got some excellent feedback on my writing from the Writers Center – and am thinking of self-publishing my memoirs on becoming a first-time Mom. My beading is on sale in a local store called Brambles (I hope they sell! I’m very proud!)

I can now spend time now with Anjali without feeling guilty about it, without dreading my work, without constantly feeling like I should be working or reading papers or writing grants or going to conferences, which, after a decade of doing them, I no longer want to do.

One evening, as I sat with how crazy it is to leave a secure well-paying job and status for something that is just a hunch, I came across this poem of Rumi called ‘gamble everything for love’ translated by one and only Coleman Barks:

Gamble everything for love,
if you’re a true human being.
If not, leave this gathering.

Half-heartedness doesn’t reach into majesty.
You set out to find God, but then you keep stopping
for long periods at meanspirited roadhouses.

Don’t wait any longer. Dive in the ocean, leave and let the sea be you.’

The message was loud and clear! Rumi is incorrigible! 🙂

I don’t know what my future will look like. and that feels okay. What I wish for is that there is so much of Love that it overflows to everyone around. Gratitude for the abundance in life each day every day. And the knowing or at least striving to be present.

May we find the courage to fly – not in spite of the fear, but with it!

With Love, S.

8 responses to “Beginnings…

  1. dhana says:

    Awesome news !!! Very proud of you , congrats on being featured at Brambles.

  2. Shuba says:

    Thank you Dhana! 🙂 I’m fortunate to have had wonderful supportive friends (like you!! ) through this time.

  3. Suman says:

    Advance b’day wishes to little Anjali. Congratulations and best wishes as you turn a new leaf in your life. It’s true, out of confusion comes clarity – loved the first two lines of your post.

    I do enjoy your writings a lot, so let me know when you publish that memoir! Have I told you my mom is a big fan of your blog?She catches up with every post of yours.

    P.S. Nice to know that you are a fellow New Englander.

  4. Shuba says:

    Thank you Suman. You are so generous! I appreciate your support very much – as kindred spirits on a similar journey. and lovely to hear that your Mom follows my humble offerings. wish you well!

    warmly, shuba

  5. A very warm birthday wish to Anjali !! And congratulations Shuba 🙂 Wishing you good luck. Excellent thoughts as always!

  6. Mangalakshmy Govindasamy says:

    your thoughts are warm….. Wonderful Amma you are! Wishing you joy

Leave a Reply

