Shuba’s Weblog

Journeys of the soul…

Yoga woman…

on December 22, 2011

About 3 weeks ago, on a Friday evening, I had the good fortune to be able to get out of the house and watch a movie called ‘Yoga woman’ with fellow yogis. It was just what I needed in my life – the reminder to move and breathe and allow change to happen, while supported by kindred spirits on this journey. The movie is about yoga, but it is about more than yoga. It is about the power within each of us, when we start to live from our deepest core values. And to do so requires practice.

I have always been a mover. I love yoga, and dance and walks. Moving is essential to my spirit, it is the reminder of the freedom that is so important to me. But I had forgotten to move! No wonder I was in a rut in my practice. My meditation had become a place of escape, and thankfully I was honest enough with myself to acknowledge it. But I didn’t know what to do until I saw the movie.

So, I started doing yoga everyday. The first few days I had the motivation, the movie was still fresh. And then came the familiar resistance – the exhaustion at the end of the day and the effort it needs to do one more thing. But I persisted, I had nothing to lose. I couldn’t possibly get more tired! And that is when I really got to see the incredible power of yoga.

Maybe it is the breathing, the moving, or taking the time for a personal break. I’m starting to find that I’m energized by the practice – a sense of lightness and love for myself starts to make its way. I kept up the yoga through Anjali’s sickness, and I couldn’t be more grateful for the practice. It became my anchor, a sure way of letting go of the negative thoughts, and letting in the gratefulness. Sometimes, like this evening when Anjali was fussing plenty, just the thought that after I put her to bed, I’ll get ‘my time’, even if it is just 20 minutes, lets me get through the day with more equanimity than I would otherwise have.

Mostly though I have kept it up because of support, the support of family and friends. I think of my fellow yogis, friends, kindred bloggers, and women I know who are on this journey like me, of living from the heart. I think of them supporting me as I do them. I’m not alone, none of us are. That is the beauty of life.

As always beloved Rumi has the last word. ‘It’s another beginning, my friend, this waking in a morning with no haze, and help coming without your asking! A glass submerged is turning inside the wine. With grief waved away, sweet gratefulness arrives’.

Maybe we be washed over by this sweet gratefulness that finds us just when we need it,

With Love, S.

Leave a Reply

