Shuba’s Weblog

Journeys of the soul…

Vday woes…

on February 14, 2012

This valentines day is one for the books. For the past couple of days I have been running a fever, headache and cold, all classic symptoms of the flu. Except I thought I was over my quota! I had one just two weeks ago – that time it was laryngitis and I had to cancel class and it happened to be Abhi’s birthday. Sickness is pretty much my nemesis. It may be because I didn’t get sick very often growing up, so even at 30 plus, I don’t get it that it passes.

I tried sitting with it, but all I could feel was a haze enveloping me. What’s funny is that, I realized I had a fever only while I was practicing Joseph Goldstein’s 9 minute meditation on sunday evening, when I was feeling the heat and the cold in my body. I realized after getting up that I was never warm!

So yesterday, Abhi stayed home and made me hot soupy lentils for lunch, and in the evening he did the groceries and entered the door with half a dozen red roses. Normally I would be over the moon – I LOVE flowers. But I could just summon a Thank you, and wanted to crawl into bed again. I’m even scared of going to the Doc – what if they put me in the hospital? I hate hospitals, the only time I’m brave in hospitals is when it involves Anjali. When it comes to me, I’m just a plain sissy. Though at Abhi’s insistence, I’m seeing a Doc this afternoon – but not looking forward to it!

So, here we are on Valentines day, sick. But there is a silver lining. There always is. Anjali is doing great. and I got to sleep for hours cuddling with my hubby, taken care of in every possible way. I just lie in bed and call out for things and they appear miraculously. My feet get massaged at night when I’ve been cold. I’ve been held a lot. The red roses seem almost unnecessary in this light of care. Maybe, being sick is not such a bad thing after all.

7 responses to “Vday woes…

  1. Maha says:

    Must be some kind of telepathy. I was thinking about you a couple of minutes back and was wondering what you have to say today. And ta da, I see your post on my reader.

    I am like you, I am such a horrible patient and make a big fuss when I am as much down with a cold. Looks like you are in good hands. Hope your health setbacks turnaround sooner than later. Take care! Happy Valentine’s day to you and little Anjali.

    • Shuba says:

      Thanks Maha! It is reassuring to hear that there are others like me. I’m convinced that I’m going to die of a cold someday! ;). I think the hard part about being sick is depending on some one else to take care of you, even if it is loving hubby. The hard part, and the sweet part.

  2. Joni Cole says:

    Feel better! But this is indeed a Valentine’s Day to remember!

  3. Hema says:

    I hope you feel better soon, Subha! I am in the same boat as you. Had a bout of cold/fever a couple weeks ago and now it’s back again. Happy Valentine’s day!

  4. balai says:

    Hope you get well soon Subha. Take care!

Leave a Reply

