The day after my birthday…

The day after
is much better!
No expectations
Or bad weather!
Life is peaceful and sane
After that torrential rain
Of self doubt
That had me fleeing from clouds
And swinging emotions
Like a pendulums motions
Joy, sorrow, passion
Followed in quick succession!
My heart was tender and raw
From this wild seesaw
a soft orange left behind
Without its protective rind
But then…this magical thing has happened
A fragrance, a sweetness,
A lightness has set in
As I take stock
Of what I see
And come face to face
With my destiny
I realize: a year older
Not any wiser,
What I am, is younger
Stronger, quicker
To embrace my life
All of its offerings
The joys and sorrows
That make my heart sing!
I am here now
To enjoy this ride
So I lightly toss judgment
On the wayside
I take a bow
And then a deep breath
And open my arms
Extra wide!!!!

2 thoughts on “The day after my birthday…

Leave a comment